PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

Is there reason to give up?

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Is there reason to give up?

Postby methodistmustang » Tue Jun 10, 2003 10:55 am

I am a continuing student at SMU. I don't know one student other than myself that actually believes we will ever have a good football team again...that's pretty sad. There are quite a few people on this site that think we will. I'm losing hope. Can someone give me a reason to believe that we will have one winning season while I am enrolled? I graduate in 2006. It breaks my heart seeing the lack of support for the football team by the students.

------------------
SMU-THE University of Texas
SMU-THE University of Texas
methodistmustang
Scout Team

Re: Is there reason to give up?

Postby PK » Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:02 am

Coach Bennett.
SMU's first president, Robert S. Hyer, selected Harvard Crimson and Yale Blue as SMU's colors to symbolize SMU's high academic standards. We are one of the few Universities to have school colors with real meaning...and we just blow them off.
PK
PonyFans.com Super Legend

Postby Pony4Life » Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:06 am

PK nailed it - Coach Bennett is too good to give up on. He admitted last year when he made mistakes, and he's such a hard worker and a maniac about both learning from his mistakes and details that he can't help but improve. We might have another sub-.500 year, but not by much, and more importantly, with the talent he's brought in, he's laid the foundation for vast improvement in the near future.

Keep the faith!
Fountain of youth
Giver of truth
Six parts gin
One part vermouth
Pony4Life
Heisman

Postby JustAFriend » Tue Jun 10, 2003 2:02 pm