PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

Training Table

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Training Table

Postby SMUPonyFan » Fri May 12, 2000 3:21 am

SMU NEEDS A TRAINING TABLE.

At the Houston parents gathering earlier this week, I know someone asked Copeland about a training table for athletics. For those of you who are not sure, a training table is a food service for athletics.

Copeland pretty much said it is a dead issue. From what I have heard, there is no financing for it, and there is no actual space for it. Also, I have heard that a certain number of people outside of athletics have to use it, but I am not sure about that.

This is why we need it:
-Athletes cannot get the nutrition they need to gain weight or keep healthy from the SMU food service. As a past freshman, I know that the food at SMU is terrible.
-The stipins(sp) and/or meal tickets the players get to eat with is not enough to eat healthy and gain weight.
-If a training table is established, practices and other events can be scheduled at different times rather than having to make the coaches rush to get the players out of there in case of a late start.
-Almost every school I have heard of has one.

This is another reason why I think SMU is battling to be a contender. First we have the stupid recruiting sanctions that the administration has put on. Second we have players who are struggling to gain weight because they are malnourished(excuse the term).

We have just built a 50 million dollar facility, and we have no place to put a training table??????????? I am sure we could get the financial backing to have one, so...what is stopping us?

If you have any information on why we don't have one, please let me know. I am very interested in this topic.

------------------
Go Red, Go Blue, Go Mustangs, S M U

[This message has been edited by SMUPonyFan (edited 05-12-2000).]
SMUPonyFan
Varsity

Re: Training Table