PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

RGTurner & MexMustang

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

RGTurner & MexMustang

Postby SoCal_Pony » Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:06 pm

I wanted to give this a separate thread regarding MexMustang's issues with RGT and if people think Turner has been an effective President for SMU.

RGTurner arrived in 1995, that's 23 years. As with anyone who has served in a leadership capacity for that long, his body of work begins to speak for itself.

Here are some key criteria by which I grade RGT, understanding that first and foremost, he is an academic President.

I tried to find our endowment numbers from 1995 but couldn't. What I did find was this from nacubo.org : In 2002, SMU ranked #52 in total endowment at $830k. By 2016 SMU was ranked #68 in total endowment at $1.4B

In 1983, the year I graduated, SMU ranked ~#53 among colleges and universities in America. In 2017, SMU was ranked #61

In terms of athletics, from 1995 to 2016, SMU football was ranked 107th out of 119 Division I programs. Schools such as Ball State, San Jose St, Louisiana-Lafayette and Louisiana-Monroe are all ranked higher than SMU.

In 1993, 2 years prior to RGT's arrival at SMU, our BB team won the SWC Championship and went to the NCAA tourney. During RGT's time at SMU, from 1995 to 2012, SMU had only 7 winning seasons (everyone tries to pad their OOC schedule), won 0 Championships, went to 0 NCAA tournaments, 1 NIT tourney and 1 CIT tourney. Remember there are some 68 teams that play in the NCAA tourney and 32 in the NIT, so from 1995 till 2012, or 17 years, SMU was not a Top 100 program 16 of those 17 years. Stallion rightfully says our biggest impediment for FB success is our lack of fan support. I happen to agree. But that is not a reason for our BB failures. What LB did for our program could have been done 15 years earlier under the proper leadership.