PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

The Way-Too-Early Season Prediction Thread...

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

The Way-Too-Early Season Prediction Thread...

Postby peruna81 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:34 pm

Since it is the dog-days of June (month not coach), it comes time to hear the wisdom of many heads...and the hopes of SMU sunshiners everywhere. I will propose that the "winner" of this prediction thread be awarded a copy of Temple Pouncey's Mustang Mania that I have been stowing away in the library for a couple of decades. We will re-visit the thread in December.

The rules?

Pick each game, with score added for potential tie-breaking.
mrydel and ponyte are the official judges...Stallion settles any further fussing.

@NTSU-W-SMU 35-24...this isn't Frisco, and we run the ball effectively.
TCU-L-TCU wins this in the 4th quarter 42-31. We run effectively again, but defense folds.
@Michigan-L-38-16. We are never in this game...we take the beating and the check, and go home.
Navy-W- SMU 45-42 in OT...Stallion is giddy again.
HBU-W-SMU 41-24. We are getting beat up on the O-Line by this stage, and on the D-Line too.
@UCF-L-44-17...For the second time this season, we are curb-stomped physically
@Tulane-W-SMU 45-24..closer than it needs to be, but the 4th quarter is "run it, Sonny" time
Cincy-W-SMU 38-34 We finally win a close game against another toss-up opponent
UH-L-38-24...I SO want to plug this one in as a win, but the athletes are still on their side
@UCONN-W- SMU 28-24 A road win is always a blessing, even against a cellar dweller
Memphis-L-44-35 Nope...not this year either...
@Tulsa-W-SMU 31-28 closes out on a high note..this one worries me...sunshine..

Nameless bowl win means 8-5...not a cloud in the sky...
stable-boy for the four horsemen of the apocalypse
peruna81
PonyFans.com Legend

Re: The Way-Too-Early Season Prediction Thread...