PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

Proché Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Proché Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

Postby PonyPride » Wed Jul 17, 2019 1:40 am

From SMUMustangs.com:

Proché Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

DALLAS (SMU) -- James Proché was named to the 2019 Maxwell Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday. Each year the Maxwell Football Club presents the Maxwell Award for the College Player of the Year.

The senior played in all 12 games for the Mustangs last season, registering a team-leading 93 catches for 1,199 yards and 12 touchdowns. Proché had five 100+-yard games, giving him nine for his career. He ranks fifth all-time at SMU with 24 career reception touchdowns and seventh all-time in both career receptions (190) and reception yards (2,724).

On special teams, Proché registered 20 punt returns for 165 yards and 12 kick returns for 276 yards to lead SMU.

Proché led the conference and was top 12 nationally in receptions per game (7.8, 5th NCAA), receiving TDs (8th NCAA), receiving yards per game (99.9, 10th NCAA) and receiving yards (12th NCAA). His 138.08 all-purpose yards were also second in the AAC and 13th nationally.

Proché was a first-team all-conference selection in 2018 and a member of the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Oct. 29, with the list of finalists released Nov. 25. The winner of the Maxwell Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show Dec. 12.

Preseason Accolades
Maxwell Award Watch List
Touchdown Club of Columbus Player to Watch
Athlon Sports Preseason AAC: first-team offense, fourth-team specialist
Phil Steele Preseason: fourth-team (All-America), first-team offense (AAC), fourth-team special teams (AAC)
College Football News Preseason AAC
College Football News Preseason Top 30 Players: No. 4
Dave Campbell's All-Texas College Team: First-team offense
Dave Campbell's 50 Most Important College Players in Texas: No. 5

The Maxwell Award Watch List opens two weeks of Watch List announcements. The complete schedule is as follows:

Mon., July 15: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award
Tue., July 16: Davey O'Brien Award
Wed., July 17: Doak Walker Award
Thu., July 18: Biletnikoff Award
Fri., July 19: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy

Mon., July 22: Jim Thorpe Award/Butkus Award
Tue., July 23: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
Wed., July 24: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 25: Paul Hornung Award/Wuerffel Trophy
Fri., July 26: Walter Camp Award

Season tickets are available now. For ticket information, call the Athletics Department Ticket Office at (214) SMU-GAME (768-4263).
PonyFans.com ... is really the premier place for Mustang talk on the Web.
New York Times



User avatar
PonyFans.com Super Legend
Posts: 13195
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2000 4:01 am
Location: Dallas, Texas

Return to Football

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: leopold, Majestic-12 [Bot], SMUstang and 8 guests