PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

SMU football is finally back and on ESPN’s GameDay. Suddenly

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

SMU football is finally back and on ESPN’s GameDay. Suddenly

Postby AfricanMustang » Sat Nov 02, 2019 10:10 am

Carson Wolff is a junior SMU student who attended the University of Alabama as a freshman, and she swears there was virtually no difference in attending a football game between the two schools last year.

There are not many SMU students who carry Alabama credentials. Wolff might be the one.

“When I was a freshman at Alabama, people would go to the games and they’d leave after the first quarter because they were beating the other team so badly,” Wolff said. “When I went to the SMU games last year, everyone would leave after the first quarter because we were losing so badly.”

When asked which experience is better — to attend a school that has a football team that is expected to win every game or a school that where each victory is precious — Wolff is adamant.

“This is better, 100 percent,” she said. “I went to the Alabama/Ole Miss game this year, and we were there for 10 minutes. It’s, ‘Take a picture and we’re going.’ You know what’s going to happen.

“When I went into the SMU stadium, you never really know. Everyone wants them to win, but the odds are not great. None of this was expected.”

Enjoy it. Especially today. SMU is undefeated, but you never really know. A Cotton Bowl invite is a possibility, but Saturday’s game may be SMU’s big bowl for 2019.

ESPN’s College GameDay will be at the SMU game in Memphis, and expect to see scores of SMU students on your TV set.

The only other time SMU has been part of the celebrated ESPN College GameDay setup was Nov. 19, 2011 when the Ponies played at No. 11 Houston. SMU lost that game, 37-7, to coach Kevin Sumlin and quarterback Case Keenum.