PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

Rhett Lashlee Recognized As Broyles Award Nominee

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Rhett Lashlee Recognized As Broyles Award Nominee

Postby PonyPride » Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:52 pm

From SMUMustangs.com:

Lashlee Recognized As Broyles Award Nominee

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (SMU) – SMU Offensive Coordinator and quarterbacks coach Rhett Lashlee was announced as a nominee for the 2019 Broyles Award, which honors college football's top assistant coaches. The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced honorees Wednesday.

Lashlee is in his second season with the Mustangs, whose offense has seen a drastic upswing from 2018. SMU finished 2018 ranked 27th nationally in passing offense at 271.7 yards per game, compared to seventh nationally at 328.1 in 2019.

SMU is also the national leader in first down offense (265) and is in the top 10 in scoring offense (6th, 45.1) and total offense (6th, 522.2). The Mustangs were outside the top 50 in each of those categories a season ago.

The No. 20 Mustangs are 9-1 in 2019 and tied atop the American Athletic Conference West Division standings.

Six offensive players highlight Watch Lists this season, including quarterback Shane Buechele, who is a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards. He is also a member of the CFPA, Manning Award and Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch Lists.

James Proche and Reggie Roberson, Jr. are listed among receivers on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List and are both mentioned on the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List as well. Proche is additionally featured on the Paul Hornung Award Watch List. Xavier Jones (Doak Walker), Tyler Page (Wuerffel Trophy) and CJ Sanders (May Clinic Comeback Award) were also honored with selections.

Year one saw Lashlee mentor Proche to first-team All-AAC honors and saw the wideout finish the season ranked fifth nationally in receptions per game (7.8), seventh in receiving touchdowns (12) and ninth in receiving yards (1,199).

The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee and current college head coaches.

A 20-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semifinalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. Those finalists will be invited to travel to Little Rock, Arkansas, where the 2019 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Dec. 10.
PonyFans.com ... is really the premier place for Mustang talk on the Web.
New York Times



User avatar
PonyFans.com Super Legend
Posts: 13464
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2000 4:01 am
Location: Dallas, Texas

Return to Football

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests