PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

Buechele Named To Davey O’Brien Watch List

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Buechele Named To Davey O’Brien Watch List

Postby PonyPride » Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:12 pm

From SMUMustangs.com:

Buechele Named To Davey O’Brien Watch List

FORT WORTH, Texas (SMU) – Shane Buechele was one of 30 quarterbacks named to the preseason Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, the Davey O'Brien Foundation announced today. The award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. Buechele was a semifinalist for the award in 2019.

Buechele returns for his second season the Hilltop as SMU's all-time leader in single-season passing yards (3,929) and passing touchdowns (34). He also set the program record for single-game passing touchdowns with six against Temple. Buechele registered 4,034 yards of total offense last season, which ranks second for a Mustang.

Along with Buechele's touchdown total, he also led the American Athletic Conference in passing yards per game at 302.2 and points responsible for at 222.

Buechele posted three games of 400+ yards and set the SMU record for consecutive games with 2+ touchdown passes with 11.

Heading into the season, Buechele ranks in the top 10 on active career FBS lists for completions (2nd, 710), passing yards (2nd, 8,565), total offense (2nd, 8,928), TD passes (3rd, 64), passing yards per game (5th, 237.9), total TDs responsible for (5th, 70) and completions per game (6th, 19.72).

In 2019, Buechele was a finalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award and a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award. He was also a first-team selection by The American and a member of the Manning Award Watch List.
Appearing on the preseason watch list is not a requirement for a player to win the award. This year, players who have been honored as weekly Davey O'Brien Great 8 recipients, as well as any additional quarterbacks approved by the selection subcommittee, will be added to form the final midseason watch list on Tuesday, Oct. 20

Sixteen semifinalists selected from the final watch list will be named on Tuesday, Nov. 10. The Foundation will announce the three finalists two weeks later (Tuesday, Nov. 24). The 2020 Davey O'Brien Award winner will be unveiled live on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 10, during The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The 44th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner is scheduled for Monday, Feb. 15, 2021, in Fort Worth, Texas.

Preseason Watch List Calendar
July 13 | Chuck Bednarik Award
July 14 | Davey O'Brien Award | Shane Buechele
July 15 | Doak Walker Award
July 16 | Biletnikoff Award
July 17 | Mackey Award
July 20 | Jim Thorpe Award
July 21 | Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award
July 22 | Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
July 23 | Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
July 24 | Maxwell Award
PonyFans.com ... is really the premier place for Mustang talk on the Web.
New York Times



User avatar
PonyFans.com Super Legend
Posts: 13470
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2000 4:01 am
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: Buechele Named To Davey O’Brien Watch List

Postby Water Pony » Wed Jul 15, 2020 10:15 am

Yahoo Sports: "

"... Who are the best FBS quarterbacks in college football returning for the 2020 season? In assembling these rankings, we’re accounting for past production, as well as doing a bit of projecting into what the future may hold."

Shane #13

https://sports.yahoo.com/college-footba ... 03760.html
Pony Up
User avatar
Water Pony
PonyFans.com Legend
Posts: 4761
Joined: Sun May 13, 2001 3:01 am
Location: Chicagoland

Return to Football

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests