PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

Non-Conference Schedule

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Non-Conference Schedule

Postby DallasMustang11 » Tue Dec 07, 2021 4:06 pm

I am no expert so I am genuinely curious about this. Moving forward is there no way to schedule better non conference opponents to help raise our profile? Just looking forward the only Power5 opponents on our schedule other than TCU are Maryland and Vanderbilt. In my mind if we keep scheduling Abilene Christian/SFA/Arkansas State we will continually go through this cycle where we start 5-0 or 4-1 and then collapse when we face any real competition. Tulsa and Tulane both had very impressive non conference games this year (Tulsa against Oklahoma state and Ohio State, Tulane against Ole Miss and Oklahoma). Surely these types of games would help position us better for future expansion.
DallasMustang11
Scout Team

Re: Non-Conference Schedule

Postby Charleston Pony » Tue Dec 07, 2021 7:45 pm

DallasMustang11 wrote:I am no expert so I am genuinely curious about this. Moving forward is there no way to schedule better non conference opponents to help raise our profile? Just looking forward the only Power5 opponents on our schedule other than TCU are Maryland and Vanderbilt. In my mind if we keep scheduling Abilene Christian/SFA/Arkansas State we will continually go through this cycle where we start 5-0 or 4-1 and then collapse when we face any real competition. Tulsa and Tulane both had very impressive non conference games this year (Tulsa against Oklahoma state and Ohio State, Tulane against Ole Miss and Oklahoma). Surely these types of games would help position us better for future expansion.