PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

Davis Named NABC All-District First Team, USBWA All-District

Anything involving SMU basketball belongs here.

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Davis Named NABC All-District First Team, USBWA All-District

Postby PonyPride » Wed Mar 17, 2021 10:10 am

From SMUMustangs.com:

Davis Selected NABC All-District First Team And USBWA All-District

DALLAS (SMU) – Kendric Davis was named to National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District First Team and the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District Team on Tuesday. Davis was also a unanimous All-American Athletic Conference first-team selection and was one of 35 named to the Lute Olson National Player of the Year Mid-Season Watch List.

Davis is averaging 18.8 points (1st AAC), 7.4 assists (1st AAC, 5th NCAA) and 1.6 steals (3rd AAC) with a 3.0 assist-to-turnover ratio (1st AAC, 13th NCAA). He is also among the league leaders in FG% (47.5, 9th AAC) and FT% (84.0, 5th AAC) while hitting 34.9% on threes. The junior has four points-assists double-doubles this season. Davis enters the postseason NIT leading The American in scoring and assists. He is the only player in the country to lead his league in both.

This season, Davis has twice been AAC Player of the Week with six additional appearances on The American weekly honor roll. This is also the second straight NABC all-district selection for Davis after making the second team last season.

The No. 3-seeded Mustangs (11-5) face No. 2-seed Boise State (18-8) in the first round of the 16-team NIT on Thursday at 8 p.m. on ESPN. The postseason matchup is at the Comerica Center in Frisco. For tickets and more information, visit SMUMustangs.com/Gameday.

NABC All-District 24
First Team
Quentin Grimes - Houston
Tyson Etienne - Wichita St.
Jayden Gardner - East Carolina
Kendric Davis - SMU
Marcus Sasser - Houston

Second Team
Justin Gorham - Houston
Brandon Rachal - Tulsa
Landers Nolley II - Memphis
Keith Williams - Cincinnati
Jaylen Forbes - Tulane

Coach of the Year: Isaac Brown, Wichita State

USBWA All-District VII (TX, AR, LA)
All-District Team
Jared Butler, Baylor
Kendric Davis, SMU
Quentin Grimes, Houston
Jhivann Jackson, UTSA
Andrew Jones, Texas
Mac McClung, Texas Tech
Davion Mitchell, Baylor
Moses Moody, Arkansas
MaCio Teague, Baylor
Cameron Thomas, LSU

Player of the Year: Jared Butler, Baylor
Coach of the Year: Scott Drew, Baylor

SMU's NABC and USBWA Honors
First Team
2000-01 Jeryl Sasser (Sr.) (NABC District 9)
2001-02 Damon Hancock (Sr.) (NABC District 9)
2002-03 Quinton Ross (Sr.) (NABC District 9)
2004-05 Bryan Hopkins (Jr.) (USBWA District 7)
2010-11 Papa Dia (Sr.) (NABC District 11)
2011-12 Robert Nyakundi (Sr.) (USBWA District 7)
2013-14 Nic Moore (So.) (NABC District 25), Nic Moore (So.) (USBWA District VII)
2014-15 Nic Moore (Jr.) (NABC District 25)
2015-16 Nic Moore (Sr.) (NABC District 25), Nic Moore (Sr.) (USBWA District VII)
2016-17 Semi Ojeleye (Jr.) (NABC District 25), Semi Ojeleye (Jr.) (USBWA District VII)
2017-18 Shake Milton (Jr.) (USBWA District VII)
2020-21 Kendric Davis (Jr.) (NABC District 24), Kendric Davis (Jr.) (USBWA District VII)

Second Team
2004-05 Bryan Hopkins (Jr.) (NABC District 9)
2009-10 Derek Williams (Sr.) (NABC District 11)
2011-12 Robert Nyakundi (Sr.) (NABC District 11)
2013-14 Markus Kennedy (So.) (NABC District 25)
2014-15 Markus Kennedy (Jr.) (NABC District 25)
Yanick Moreira (Sr.) (NABC District 25)
2015-16 Ben Moore (Jr.) (NABC District 25)
2016-17 Shake Milton (So.) (NABC District 25)
2017-18 Shake Milton (Jr.) (NABC District 25)
2019-20 Kendric Davis (So.) (NABC District 24)

NABC All-Star
2016-17 Sterling Brown (Sr.) (West Team), Ben Moore (Sr.) (West Team)
PonyFans.com ... is really the premier place for Mustang talk on the Web.
New York Times



User avatar
PonyFans.com Super Legend
Posts: 14545
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2000 4:01 am
Location: Dallas, Texas

Return to Basketball

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests