PonyFans.comBoard IndexAround the HilltopFootballRecruitingBasketballOther Sports

Majoring in Political Science or Business

General discussion: anything you want to talk about!

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Majoring in Political Science or Business

Postby prospy » Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:10 pm

Hello Pony fans,

I'm a college freshman that goes to ACC, very interested in transferring to SMU for the Spring or Fall 2019. I messed around my first semester so it will probably take at least this semester and next of good grades to get in as a Liberal Arts major. I would like to be a Landman and possibly go to law school some day, so I know that I won't HAVE to go to get a BBA. That being said, is it worth attending SMU (or another college) for an extra year and postponing my graduation a year in order to get my BBA from Cox instead of majoring in something like Politics or History? Do you think I would I be better off graduating a year later and going to Cox, graduating on time and getting a Liberal Arts degree, or going to another (lesser) school for my Business degree? What would y'all do if you were in my circumstances?

Just want to say thanks in advance for any advice and Go Mustangs! :D
prospy

Re: Majoring in Political Science or Business

Postby tristatecoog » Mon Oct 30, 2017 6:54 pm

Don't you need a 3.5 GPA at SMU to get into Cox? That may be a bit challenging by the time you transfer in as a late sophomore or junior. Not sure what grades you would need to transfer into Cox from ACC but it could be possible if you ace your classes the rest of the way and show an incredible turnaround.

My recommendation is to get an Econ degree with some business classes that are relevant to being a landman and then go to law school. Don't go to a "lesser school" just to major in business. Showing that you can turn it around at ACC and then excel at SMU will be more than sufficient to get into a top law school (plus solid LSAT of course).
tristatecoog
Hall of Famer