Page 1 of 3

Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:07 am
by newshound
This was posted in a forum on cbssports.com: The referees made a mistake at the end of the Texas Tech/SMU game. There were offsetting penalties when SMU had the ball on fourth and 21 from mid-field at the end of the game-a roughing the passer and an illegal shift.

The refs said offsetting penalties and redo the down. But that's not what the proper ruling should have been. The roughing the passer penalty on 4th and 21 should have been administered as a dead ball penalty. The illegal shift should have put them back five yards first and then the roughing the passer administered for 15 yards and a first down.

See Rule 10 Section 1 (Penalty Enforcement) of the NCAA rulebook article 4 number 3. Roughing the passer is administered as a dead ball penalty because it can be added on to the end of the [play. The referees made a huge mistake and it cost SMU a chance to tie the game up with a minute left. They should have had a first and 10 from the Texas Tech 40-yard line.

If this is true, how could not one single official or SMU coach know the rule?

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:09 am
by Treadway21
Good question. Shouldn't Davies have picked up on that also? It would have made a big difference.

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:11 am
by Stallion
Perhaps an SMU Coach as well if you are going to blame the announcer

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:12 am
by ponyscott
Thanks so much !!!!!!!!.......as I had a somewhat heated discussion during the game in Lubbock with a TT fan as he told me the same thing as I actually thought the Roughing the Passer trumped the illegal shift. It was a bad missed call and should have been protested but didn't see any shuffling at the SMU bench at the time. The First Down would have been perfect and created another opportunity for us to score.
Where were these officials from BTW?

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:12 am
by Three Putt
It's "administered" as a dead-ball foul, however, the foul itself is a live-ball foul. They got it right. There was no mistake by the officials.

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:17 am
by Treadway21
Stallion wrote:Perhaps an SMU Coach as well if you are going to blame the announcer


Not blaming the announcer, but I was unsure about the rule and since there was no mention of it by a former college coach dismissed it. My comment has nothing to do with the SMU staff. The general lack of good commentary from Davies was irritating.

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:28 am
by mr. pony
Three Putt wrote:It's "administered" as a dead-ball foul, however, the foul itself is a live-ball foul. They got it right. There was no mistake by the officials.

Well, which is it? :shock:

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:11 pm
by PonyLove
The announcer was lucky to even call the correct players...he was an idiot...not to mention ESPN missed the start of several plays because they were panning the crowd and such. That was my punishment for not being at the game---didn't realize how bad they were on tv.

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:15 pm
by Pony in SA
It was a Big 12 crew, and one member a Tech grad (which is ironic b/c Leech complained couple of years ago when they played in Austin about a UT grad calling the game).

Officials not why we lost, but bigger error was the ball thrown into our players face mask early in the game by a QB. If you look at replay Referee is right there, saw it, and even commented to the QB afterwards about it (check your DVRs). That is an automatic unsportsmanlike 15 yrds. and in some cases ejection.

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:33 pm
by Junior
Pony in SA wrote:It was a Big 12 crew, and one member a Tech grad (which is ironic b/c Leech complained couple of years ago when they played in Austin about a UT grad calling the game).

Officials not why we lost, but bigger error was the ball thrown into our players face mask early in the game by a QB. If you look at replay Referee is right there, saw it, and even commented to the QB afterwards about it (check your DVRs). That is an automatic unsportsmanlike 15 yrds. and in some cases ejection.


I wondered about that one as well. There was some pushing and shoving going on at the same time, but the ball was blatantly thrown at our player. Should have been 15 yards.

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:19 pm
by Alysa
That's what I thought. I was yelling at the refs while watching on tv.

I know I always see mistakes like holding not called but that one was really bad for the team.

Bless their hearts.

Keep fighting hard.

Go Ponies!

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:23 pm
by Mestengo
Not to [deleted] on the fire, but do you think shell shocked JJ could have made that work with the guns up attack they were going to put on him? I don’t . We lost, it's our falut. It's over, will get better.

I just went shoping for the tailgate i'm ready for UAB

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:30 pm
by SMU89
I'm ready for 33 & UAB

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:10 pm
by Junior
So, what is the final ruling? Should the roughing call been enforced and SMU received a first down?

Re: Major officiating gaffe on final drive?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:14 pm
by MiracleOnMockingbird
Three Putt wrote:It's "administered" as a dead-ball foul, however, the foul itself is a live-ball foul. They got it right. There was no mistake by the officials.


That is correct. Of course Robinson could have made it moot by not getting an illegal shift. He didn't run a pattern on the play either, just hung out on the line of scrimmage (which I can't imagine was part of the play design). Thanks for nothing Al.