Over/under on Navy's illegal chop blocks?

This is the forum for talk about SMU Football

Moderators: PonyPride, SmooPower

Football4ever
Junior Varsity
Junior Varsity
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 1:52 am

Re: Over/under on Navy's illegal chop blocks?

Post by Football4ever »

"ARTICLE 3. A chop block is a high-low or low-high combination block by
any two players against an opponent (not the ball carrier) anywhere on the
field, with or without a delay between blocks; the "low" component is at the
opponent’s thigh or below (A.R. 9-1-10-I-V).

Chop Blocking-ARTICLE 10
Approved Ruling 9-1-10
I. On a forward pass play, A75 is blocking B66 at the waist behind the
neutral zone. While A75 maintains contact, A47 subsequently blocks
B66 at his thigh. RULING: Chop block, 15 yards from the previous
spot.
II. As the flow of the play moves to the left, right tackle A77 is disengaging
from his block above the thigh with B50 when A27 blocks B50 at his
knee. RULING: Chop block, 15 yards. Previous-spot enforcement if the
foul occurs behind the neutral zone.
III. Immediately after the snap, left guard A65 and left tackle A79
simultaneously block B66, who is in the neutral zone. (a) Both blocks
are at the thigh. (b) One contact is at the waist and the other at the knee.
RULING: (a) Legal blocks for a low-low combination. (b) Foul, chop
block.
IV. Tight end A87 and wingback A43 are leading the play when both
simultaneously block linebacker B17, who is three yards beyond the
neutral zone. (a) Both blocks are above the waist. (b) One block is above
the waist and the other at the knee. RULING: (a) Legal blocks. (b)
Foul, chop block.
V. After snapping the ball, snapper A54 brushes by nose guard B62 on his
way to block a linebacker. A54 makes slight contact with B62, or B62
reaches out and uses his arm to initiate contact with A54. While B62
and A54 are in contact, right guard A68 blocks B62 at the knee from the
front. RULING: Legal. A54 is not blocking B62. The incidental contact
or B62’s initiating contact does not constitute part of a combination
block, and hence there is no chop block."

From the NCAA rule book
Post Reply